Calibrated to Unilever's audited FY2025 numbers.
Every module here is seeded with Unilever's audited FY2025 results (continuing operations, excluding the demerged Ice Cream business). The headline figures — turnover €50,503m, operating profit €9,037m, underlying operating profit €10,084m, UEBITDA €11,394m — reconcile to Unilever's own reconciliations. Line-item splits within the driver tree that Unilever does not disclose separately are calibrated to the disclosed subtotals (gross margin 46.9%, B&M 16.1% of turnover).
Unilever's FY2025 accounts state it has commenced its assessment of IFRS 18, with the main impacts expected on the presentation of the income statement and the disclosure of Management Performance Measures, applied from the mandatory date of 1 January 2027. Unilever's flagship measures — underlying operating profit, UEBITDA, underlying EPS — are exactly the MPMs that IFRS 18 ¶21–38 will bring into a single governed reconciliation note. Modules 3 and 4 build precisely that.
From the P&L to EBITA.
The driver tree connects Unilever's independent operating levers — volume, price, gross margin, B&M spend, overheads — through intermediate nodes to EBITDA and EBITA, then onward through the IFRS 18 subtotal waterfall. EBITA is the clean operating anchor: EBITA = Operating Profit + amortisation of acquired intangibles, which IFRS 18 ¶B8 makes directly computable by requiring acquired-intangible amortisation on the face.
The contribution table below states, for each component, its IFRS 18 category, where it sits in the tree, and its structural sensitivity to EBITA. The last rows carry the categorisation payload IFRS 18 makes explicit: items below EBITA — acquired-intangible amortisation, the equity-accounted result, net finance costs — have zero sensitivity to operating drivers and act only on their own subtotal and below.
| P&L component | Category | Path to EBITA | Sensitivity at base |
|---|---|---|---|
| Volume | Operating | leaf → turnover → GP → EBITDA → EBITA | drops contribution margin to EBITA |
| Price | Operating | leaf → turnover → GP → EBITDA → EBITA | ~+1% turnover per pt (no added COGS) — top lever |
| Gross margin | Operating | leaf → GP → EBITDA → EBITA | ±1 pt ≈ ±€505m to EBITA |
| B&M investment | Operating | leaf → EBITDA | −1 pt of turnover ≈ +€505m (discretionary) |
| Overheads | Operating | leaf → EBITDA | −1 pt ≈ +€505m; productivity lever |
| Acquired-intangible amort. | Operating | below EBITA | 0 on EBITA; −1:1 on Operating Profit |
| Share of JV / associates | Investing | below Operating Profit | 0 on EBITA & Op Profit; +1:1 on PBF Tax |
| Net finance costs | Financing | below PBF Tax | 0 above PBF Tax; +1:1 on PBT |
Move a lever, watch the waterfall.
Drag an operating driver and the full IFRS 18 waterfall recomputes — Turnover → Gross Profit → EBITDA → EBITA → Operating Profit (¶45a) → Profit before Financing & Tax (¶45b) → Profit before Tax (¶45c). The tornado on the right ranks Unilever's levers by point elasticity of the anchor you choose. Neutral sliders reproduce the audited FY2025 base exactly — a calibration the tool checks live.
Live IFRS 18 waterfall — € million
Outputs — now / Δ vs base
Anchor tornado
Price tops the ranking — it carries no incremental cost of sales, so a point flows almost entirely to EBITA — but for Unilever its plausible range is tight (2.0% underlying price growth in FY2025). Volume is more actionable. Switch the anchor to PBT and the financing lever appears; on an EBITA anchor it shows zero. That anchor-switch is IFRS 18's categorisation made tangible: operating levers and capital-structure levers act on different parts of the waterfall.
One bridge per Management Performance Measure.
IFRS 18 ¶34 will require Unilever to reconcile each MPM to its most directly comparable IFRS subtotal, showing the tax and NCI effect of every reconciling item. Below, each of Unilever's flagship MPMs is rendered as a waterfall from its anchor to the measure — machine-checked to foot against Unilever's own disclosed reconciliations.
Underlying operating profit and UEBITDA are pre-tax measures anchored on operating profit — the €1,047m of non-underlying items (restructuring, acquisition/disposal costs, impairments, disposal losses) are added back at their pre-tax value, with the tax effect shown for the note. Underlying profit attributable to shareholders is an after-tax measure anchored on net profit: it first strips the €531m non-controlling interest, then adds back the post-tax non-underlying items (€1,079m). All three foot exactly to Unilever's disclosed figures.
Unilever's MPMs, governed.
Filtered through the ¶21 definition, Unilever's measures split cleanly: the subtotals of income and expense become governed MPMs; the growth and balance-sheet metrics sit outside the strict definition as voluntary APMs. The 5-stage lifecycle — Identify → Test → Define → Reconcile → Govern — applied to Unilever's FMCG register:
| Measure | FY2025 | Anchor | Reconciling items | Status vs ¶21 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Underlying operating profit MPM | 10,084 | Operating profit ¶45(a) | + non-underlying items in OP (1,047) | Confirmed MPM — segment profit measure; ¶34 note |
| UEBITDA MPM | 11,394 | Operating profit ¶45(a) | + D&A (1,310) + non-underlying (1,047) | Confirmed MPM — leverage measure |
| Underlying profit attributable to shareholders MPM | 6,761 | Profit for the period ¶45(d) | − NCI (531) + post-tax non-underlying (1,079) | Confirmed MPM — the underlying-EPS numerator |
| Underlying operating margin | 20.0% | (ratio) | UOP ÷ turnover | Ratio, not a subtotal — voluntary APM |
| Underlying sales growth (USG) | 3.5% | (growth %) | ex FX, ex M&A | Growth %, not a subtotal — voluntary APM |
| Free cash flow / net debt | 5,921 | (cash / BS) | — | Cash-flow / balance-sheet — outside MPM scope |
| Role | Responsibility |
|---|---|
| Group CFO | Owns the Register; signs off each results release pre-publication |
| Audit Committee | Approves the MPM policy; reviews the Register; approves any definition change (¶36) |
| Group Controller | Maintains the Register; ensures each reconciliation ties to the consolidation system |
| Group Tax | Owns the tax-effect methodology for each reconciling item (¶34(b)) |
| Investor Relations | Flags any new externally-communicated measure before it enters public use |
| Sustainability lead | Confirms no sustainability-report measure falls outside the Register (¶23) |
Unilever restated FY2024 comparatives for the Ice Cream demerger and re-based every underlying measure. Under IFRS 18 ¶36, once these MPM definitions are fixed they must persist quarter to quarter; any change — or the addition/removal of a measure — requires disclosure. The productivity-programme restructuring add-back, in particular, will need a stable, documented boundary as the programme winds down through 2026.
Which numbers move, and what moves them.
IFRS 18 changes no measurement, so profit for the period is identical on both bases. Every indicator that moves does so because its numerator crosses a subtotal, or because the measure’s status changes from a voluntary disclosure into an audited one. Unilever is an instructive case precisely because so little moves in the first sense and so much in the second: the group already presents an operating profit that excludes joint ventures, associates and finance, so the statutory subtotal survives the transition almost intact. What does not survive intact is the governance around the measures the market actually quotes.
| Indicator | Old basis | IFRS 18 | Effect | Cause | Why it behaves this way |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 17.9% | 17.9% | Unchanged | D | Unilever already presents an operating profit that excludes joint ventures, associates and net finance, so its composition is already close to ¶45(a). Most reporters will not be so fortunate: any group presenting exceptional items below the line sees this fall. |
| Underlying operating margin MPM | 20.0% | 20.0% | Status changes | C | The number is identical; what changes is that it moves inside the audited financial statements with a reconciliation to operating profit, the tax effect of each of the €1,047m of reconciling items, and the effect on non-controlling interests. |
| UEBITDA margin MPM | 22.6% | 22.6% | Status changes | C | Same mechanism, two adjustments deep: depreciation and amortisation of €1,310m plus the non-underlying items. Each layer needs its own tax effect, which is where a spreadsheet-assembled measure fails. |
| OPDAI margin | — | 20.5% | Newly available | B | Operating profit before depreciation, amortisation and IAS 36 impairment is a subtotal the standard names, so presenting it does not trigger the MPM note. It is the compliant analogue to EBITDA and sits 207 basis points below UEBITDA, because it adds back no non-underlying items. |
| EBITA margin | — | 17.9% | Newly computable | B | ¶B8 requires amortisation of acquired intangibles on the face, which makes EBITA derivable directly from the statement for the first time rather than from a note reconstruction. |
| Profit before financing and tax margin | — | 18.3% | Newly named | B | Unilever already discloses the components, but ¶45(b) makes this a mandatory subtotal with a fixed definition, so it becomes comparable across entities instead of being each analyst’s own construction. |
| Investing contribution to PBFIT | — | 2.5% | Newly visible | B | The €228m net share of joint ventures and associates as a proportion of ¶45(b). Equity-accounted results are mandatorily investing and can never be brought into operating, however integral the ventures are. |
| Operating interest cover | 18.0x | 18.0x | Definition hardens | B | The value holds, but both numerator and denominator become standard-defined, so the ratio turns comparable between entities. The financing category now explicitly includes lease and pension interest, which not every reporter isolates today. |
| Profit before tax margin | 17.2% | 17.2% | Control | D | Must not move. Its numerator sits below all three subtotals, so any movement means an amount has been misclassified into or out of the income tax line. |
| Net margin | 12.3% | 12.3% | Control | D | Must not move. The standard changes no measurement, so profit for the period is invariant by construction. |
| Effective tax rate | 28.5% | 28.5% | Control | D | Must not move, and it is the sharpest of the three controls because both of its inputs are untouched. |
| Underlying EPS MPM | n/a | n/a | Status changes | C | An additional earnings per share measure is permitted only where its numerator is an MPM or a subtotal the standard lists. Underlying EPS qualifies through its MPM numerator; a measure such as revenue per share would not, and is now prohibited inside the financial statements. |
| Code | Cause | Mechanism | Who it hits hardest |
|---|---|---|---|
| A | The numerator gains items | Restructuring, litigation provisions and other charges previously shown below an exceptional-items line return to operating profit, because ¶B11 prohibits that subtotal on the face and ¶B12 makes restructuring mandatorily operating. | Any reporter that currently presents an exceptional or non-underlying line on the face. Unilever presents its within operating profit already, which is why cause A does not bite here. |
| B | The numerator becomes standard-defined | A subtotal that was each preparer’s own construction acquires a fixed definition, or a disclosure requirement makes a previously derived measure directly computable. | Everyone, but as an improvement rather than a movement. This is where comparability between entities actually arrives. |
| C | The measure’s status changes | A measure published outside the accounts moves inside them, with an audited reconciliation, a disclosed definition, and per-item tax and non-controlling-interest effects. | Consumer goods groups and anyone whose investor narrative runs on an adjusted measure. This is the dominant cause for Unilever. |
| D | Nothing changes, by design | The indicator’s inputs are untouched by the standard. It should read identically on both bases. | Nobody — and that is the point. Treat these as controls and check them first on any restatement. |
Abbreviations & terms.
The measures, subtotals and standards referenced across the four modules, with their IFRS 18 anchor where relevant.
| Abbreviation | Term | Note / IFRS 18 anchor |
|---|---|---|
| IFRS | International Financial Reporting Standards | Standards issued by the IASB |
| IFRS 18 | Presentation and Disclosure in Financial Statements | IASB, Apr 2024; effective 1 Jan 2027; supersedes IAS 1 |
| IAS 1 / IAS 28 / IAS 33 | Presentation of FS / Investments in Associates & JVs / Earnings per Share | Superseded (IAS 1); equity method & EPS retained |
| MPM | Management Performance Measure | ¶21–38; reconciled to an IFRS subtotal (¶34) |
| APM | Alternative Performance Measure | Voluntary; outside the strict ¶21 MPM definition |
| Op / Inv / Fin | Operating / Investing / Financing categories | ¶45 categorisation of income & expenses |
| ¶45(a) | Operating Profit | First mandatory subtotal |
| PBF Tax | Profit before Financing and Income Tax | ¶45(b) mandatory subtotal |
| PBT | Profit before Tax | ¶45(c) mandatory subtotal |
| EBITDA | Earnings Before Interest, Tax, Depreciation & Amortisation | Operating Profit + D&A |
| EBITA | Earnings Before Interest, Tax & Amortisation (of acquired intangibles) | Operating Profit + acquired-intangible amort. (¶B8) |
| UOP | Underlying Operating Profit | Unilever MPM; anchor Operating Profit ¶45(a) |
| UEBITDA | Underlying EBITDA | Unilever MPM; anchor Operating Profit ¶45(a) |
| UOM | Underlying Operating Margin | UOP ÷ turnover (ratio, voluntary APM) |
| USG | Underlying Sales Growth | Growth %, ex FX & M&A (voluntary APM) |
| EPS | Earnings per Share | IAS 33; underlying EPS is an MPM-linked measure |
| NCI | Non-Controlling Interests | Effect disclosed per reconciling item (¶34(c)) |
| D&A | Depreciation & Amortisation | FY2025 €1,310m |
| B&M | Brand & Marketing investment | 16.1% of turnover FY2025 |
| COGS | Cost of Goods Sold | Turnover − gross profit |
| FCF | Free Cash Flow | Cash-flow measure; outside MPM scope |
| JV | Joint Venture | Equity-accounted → investing (IAS 28) |
| FX | Foreign Exchange | Currency translation effect |
| NUI | Non-Underlying Items | Add-backs bridging statutory to underlying measures |
| bps / pt | Basis points / percentage point | 100 bps = 1 pt; 1 pt of turnover ≈ €505m |
| ¶ / ¶B8 | Paragraph / Application-guidance paragraph B8 | IFRS 18 reference; ¶B8 = acquired-intangible separation |
References & sources.
Headline figures trace to group (1); accounting constructs to group (2). Figures marked audited reconcile to Unilever's disclosures; calibrated splits are estimated to the disclosed subtotals and should be re-derived from the ledger before publication.
1 · Unilever financial sources
- Unilever — 2025 Full Year Results (12 Feb 2026): consolidated income statement; reconciliations of operating profit → underlying operating profit, operating profit → UEBITDA, net profit → underlying profit attributable to shareholders; non-underlying items breakdown. audited-basis
unilever.com/files/ir-q4-2025-full-announcement.pdf (accessed 27 Jul 2026) - Unilever — Annual Report and Accounts 2025 (IFRS 18 assessment note; non-GAAP definitions). unilever.com/investors/annual-report-and-accounts
2 · Accounting standards
- IFRS 18 Presentation and Disclosure in Financial Statements (IASB, Apr 2024) — subtotals ¶45(a)–(d); MPMs ¶21–38 (¶34 reconciliation, tax & NCI); acquired-intangible separation ¶B8. Effective 1 Jan 2027. ifrs.org
- IAS 28 (equity-method result → investing); IAS 33 (EPS). ifrs.org
3 · Method
- ifrs18-extension skill — driver-tree, elasticity-tool and MPM-bridge reference engines (validated).
Educational IFRS 18 analytics for Unilever from public audited results. The driver tree's intra-subtotal splits are calibrated illustrations of Unilever's disclosed margins, not disclosed line items; the elasticity tool is a local-sensitivity model; the MPM bridges reconcile to Unilever's own disclosed MPM reconciliations. Not audit, tax or investment advice. IFRS 18 is not yet effective; Unilever's FY2025 statements are prepared under IAS 1.